8.6

Reviews of Sant' Martre 4 stars

Rua Aprazivel, 28, Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, CEP 20241-270, Brazil

  • Jamie

    Reviewed: 11 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Friendly and helpful staff Cleaned and quiet Good breakfast Great showers Fantastic views

    A little dated and a bit hard to find to start with.

  • Peter

    Reviewed: 1 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Fantastic views, safe area, very helpful host.

    Small rooms. Simple breakfast.

  • Mike

    Reviewed: 13 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review

    Amazing location and very friendly staff. The guy who welcomed us was just amazing. The best!!!

    Unfortunately they only provide one key even though we’re being two guests and needing the to open the gate to leave the hotel. Also, we had some problems with the AC, it was leaking all night over the bed. Breakfast could be a little bit better for the price we paid.

  • See the property
  • Florence

    Reviewed: 19 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review
  • Andrea

    Reviewed: 24 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024

    Verified review
  • Tominaga

    Reviewed: 23 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • David

    Reviewed: 6 May 2024 · Stayed in May 2024

    Verified review

    The views are nice and the balcony was decent. The breakfast was okay. Bathroom decent.

    We stayed in late April - May so off-season I think. You can do Santa Teresa in a day, I wouldn't advise staying here for long unless you're a looking for a quiet holiday. Stick to Ipenama or Copacabana. It did have great views and pretty grounds. However the property feels confused - somewhere between apartments, a hostel and a hotel. No food shops nearby. Very few bars or restaurants. Extremely hilly and hard to get to. Taxis kept getting lost. There was a broken light in our room, didn't turn on and was hanging off the wall. The Aircon was very loud and slightly broken, it wouldn't swing and had no auto setting so would just constantly spit out cold air even during the night when it stopped being needed. The rooms are not soundproofed as advertised - one night dogs barking kept us awake for a while. The staff, while lovely and as helpful as possible, do not speak any English as advertised, this was one of the main reasons we booked as our Portuguese is very bad. We accidentally wandered into private houses below the hotel while looking for the bar, which had no signposting or restriction whatsoever which was a little awkward. No staff ever seemed to be around to get drinks such as water or beer from the locked fridge, only saw them for an hour in the morning. I'm unsure if this is what they mean by minibar, the rooms only have a fridge unstocked. Given that we were told not to bring any alcohol into the hotel and there was no shops around without paying for a taxi, we found this frustrating. Having no one a around to ask for guidance was also quite unsettling for us and not what we would expect from a hotel. We ended up getting an Airbnb in Ipenama after two nights which was much better both location wise and price. The hot tub, you have to ask for it to be prepared an hour in advance and I believe isn't always available - we never ended up using it.

    Property response:

    From what we can understand, your review was about the neighborhood and not about the Inn... It's important to research... For those who want to be on the beach, the ideal option is Copacabana or Ipanema... For those who want a historic and bohemian place Santa Teresa is the right place!!

    From what we can understand, your review was about the neighborhood and not about the Inn... It's important to research... For those who want to be on the beach, the ideal option is Copacabana or Ipanema... For those who want a historic and… Show more

    Sant' Martre
    6 May 2024
  • Panthea

    Reviewed: 20 April 2024 · Stayed in April 2024

    Verified review

    we loved to stay in this beautiful place it has beautiful scenery, with both view of the whole city and the garden, the garden is eqiupped with a jacuzzi, pool table and lounge, the room was clean and modern, the view from balcony was amazing, we also enjoyed a lovely breakfast, it is a couple of minutes walk to the pretty square in santa teresa

  • Christian

    Reviewed: 23 February 2024 · Stayed in February 2024

    Verified review

    Old buildings pictures are stale, ants bugs, keys didn’t work had to constantly get new ones

    Old buildings pictures are stale, ants bugs, keys didn’t work had to constantly get new ones

  • See the property
  • Valeria

    Reviewed: 21 January 2024 · Stayed in January 2024

    Verified review

    Not a 4 stars. Dirty towels and not working safety box which wasn’t replaced (as requested). They charged money to keep the luggage after check out for a couple of hours (definitely not a hotel standard) highly not recommended. Overpriced and rooms are smelly and not cleaned

    Property response:

    We're sorry you booked wrong. We are not a hotel, we are an inn. With an excellent location with incredible views. For the services you are looking for, you need to book a hotel and not a guesthouse.

    Sant' Martre
    21 January 2024
  • Alice

    Reviewed: 3 January 2024 · Stayed in January 2024

    Verified review

    Very nice view and terrace, very nice staff.

    For the price charged (£200/night due to NYE), it's a mediocre place: the room is tiny and lacks basic amenities (no shampoo in the room, etc.), the curtains were hard to open, no lock, and everything was old and outdated. The breakfast is industrial, apart from the fruits.

    Property response:

    The amount paid during New Year's Eve is higher than the regular period. We are not a hotel with restaurant services, etc... We are a guesthouse in a noble location in Santa Teresa. Strong points view of the city and tranquility of nature.

    Sant' Martre
    3 January 2024
  • Leticia

    Reviewed: 2 January 2024 · Stayed in December 2023

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Kim

    Reviewed: 17 December 2023 · Stayed in November 2023

    Verified review
  • Anonymous

    Reviewed: 3 December 2023 · Stayed in November 2023

    Verified review
  • A

    Reviewed: 26 November 2023 · Stayed in November 2023

    Verified review

    We only stayed for a few hours but the front desk person was incredibly kind and understanding and the bed was super comfortable! The location was also great. A short walk to the main restaurants in Santa Teresa and about a 20 minute Uber to Centro.

    I think the description in the listing on Booking.com mentions things that are specifically available for the more expensive suites so just make sure you know what to expect based on the particular suite you're picking.

  • See the property
  • Ian

    Reviewed: 25 September 2023 · Stayed in September 2023

    Verified review

    Fabulous views both from bedroom and from outside breakfast area, and in a very tranquil area of the city. The bedroom was furnished to a very high standard.

    On the morning I checked out, I asked the hotel to keep my bag until 7pm, when I'd leave for the airport. They refused to do so, which caused me considerable inconvenience. In addition, the food served at breakfast showed signs of cost-cutting, with fruit squash provided instead of fruit juice, and very low quality bread rolls & yoghurt.

  • Luma

    Reviewed: 25 September 2023 · Stayed in September 2023

    Verified review
  • Ellie

    Reviewed: 3 September 2023 · Stayed in September 2023

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Lincoln

    Reviewed: 13 June 2023 · Stayed in June 2023

    Verified review

    A vista, a natureza. a simpatia do Ivo e o café da manhã

    Da grama artificial

  • Tomas

    Reviewed: 21 March 2023 · Stayed in March 2023

    Verified review

    The location is top, although the steep hill to get to the hotel, the view over Rio’s downtown is amazing. The staff was very nice and helpful!

    Rooms are not the newest but this was not an issue for us.

  • Chen

    Reviewed: 22 February 2023 · Stayed in February 2023

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Chen

    Reviewed: 22 February 2023 · Stayed in February 2023

    Verified review
  • Rutger

    Reviewed: 12 January 2023 · Stayed in January 2023

    Verified review
  • Frampton

    Reviewed: 8 January 2023 · Stayed in January 2023

    Verified review

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Location in Santa Teresa is up a steep hill from the main bars and resturants. The views are spectacular and there's lots of outdoor space to enjoy. Rooms comfortable and very clean.

    We were fine but it is on a steep hill which you need to walk up and down to get to the bars and resturants. Very little English spoken, but there always Google translate!

  • See the property
  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

Romantik Hotel Bären Dürrenroth

Dürrenroth, Switzerland

Apartments Ilona

Novi Vinodolski, Croatia

Olymp Plaza

Kemerovo, Russia

Hotel Sai Nivas

New Delhi, India

Le Phénix

Castillon-la-Bataille, France

Apartment Anci

Vodice, Croatia

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...