8.3

Reviews of Mango Moon Villa 3 stars

200 meters Oeste from the entrance of Hotel la Mariposa, 00111 Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica

  • Simon

    Reviewed: 9 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Breakfast was great. Views were amazing.

    The beach (biesanz) IS NOT a 15 minute walk! It is more like a 40 minute walk. We ended up driving to the nearest parking and walking down (ten minute walk from the car). We didn't go to Playatas but that would have been a similar distance

    Property response:

    Hi Simon, Thanks for staying with us! Biesanz beach is 1.4km from Mango Moon. Everyone has different ways to get there. I’ sorry to hear that it was taking so long for you. Some guests drive to it due to some of the hills that are along the way.

    Hi Simon, Thanks for staying with us! Biesanz beach is 1.4km from Mango Moon. Everyone has different ways to get there. I’ sorry to hear that it was taking so long for you. Some guests drive to it due to some of the hills that are along the… Show more

    Mango Moon Villa
    4 August 2025
  • Micah

    Reviewed: 22 April 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review
  • Beck

    Reviewed: 14 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review
  • See the hotel
  • Violeta

    Reviewed: 13 March 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review

    We booked a superior double room & it did not disappoint! The views at this hotel were spectacular (see pictures) and the wildlife was wonderful (see pictures). Every morning I’d wake up and watch the wildlife for 30-60m, basically saw everything you’d want to (monkeys, agoutis, toucans, iguanas, hummingbirds & lots of other birds). It was pricey but we were staying in peak season and after 1 night I realised how it was actually great value for money. The pool is small but ideal, the staff are incredibly friendly and booked excursions for us & the breakfast has that spectacular view! The location is a reasonable walk from Bienanz beach, which is small but nice and swim friendly, but I recommend the walk (or 380 colon bus) to Manuel Antonio beach as it’s much larger and has restaurants. It’s a short 5m walk from the supermarket and a plethora of restaurants. I strongly recommend having at least one sunset dinner at Carambola, the hotel restaurant, the views are unreal and the food is great.

    Couple downsides were the balcony door in our room was quite tough to move, that will need some maintenance as it’s somewhat broken. The curtains also don’t really block much/any light (in a room that’s 40% windows) but we just went to bed at 10am and woke up naturally at 6:30am. Also, be careful with ants, my back got destroyed while sun bathing briefly!

    Property response:

    Hi Violeta, Thank you for staying with us and noticing all the animals and natures that we are surrounded by. Most of our guests are busy leaving the hotel for their tours looking for animals while some of our guests who decided to stay back and enjoy quiet time who get to see these animals up close. Rainy season is when we do most of repairs and jammed screen doors are on top of the list! As for the curtains, we all go to bed and wake up with the monkeys! We call it “Monkey Time” Manuel Antonio does not offer night-life after sun down and most guests are tucked in by 10pm. By 5am, birds are up and flying around the property, we all wake up from the noises even with light blocked curtains! You will be emerged in with the jungle and it’s lively creatures. Thanks for your input and we hope you enjoyed your visit to Costa Rica.

    Hi Violeta, Thank you for staying with us and noticing all the animals and natures that we are surrounded by. Most of our guests are busy leaving the hotel for their tours looking for animals while some of our guests who decided to stay bac… Show more

    Mango Moon Villa
    4 August 2025
  • Nicholas

    Reviewed: 10 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review

    The views were very good, food was good too if overpriced and the staff other than management/owner were very helpful

    This hotel has real problems - beware. The walk to the room round the outside was tatty and dirty – nothing that a good jet wash would not solve. We arrived to a room that stank of bleach, to a point that it made us feel ill. The explanation was the air conditioning had been serviced, but on examination of the room we found evidence of damp and mould on the walls. Being in a position of having to stay at least one of the three nights booked we woke to find all our clothes felt damp. We also realised that we had been sleeping on a plastic under sheet, not pleasant when the room was very hot and clammy! The room was badly furnished with old worn out furniture making it look and feel cheap and tatty. The air conditioning unit was either on or off and blew cold air right across the bed – the owner suggested we wouldn’t need it at night! Initially a new room was suggested for the 2nd night but the offer turned into nothing and the owner ignored us in the evening and following morning. We decided to cut our losses and leave, we tried to get a refund for the cancelled nights via Booking.com but the hotel did not reply to their message and seem powerless to help further.

    Property response:

    Hi Nicolas, We are very sorry to hear your stay with us was dissatisfactory. We recall your stay and would respond to your concerns. We constantly upkeep with daily uses in and out of the rooms including all the public areas, much like keeping up with boats. We remember there was strong smell in your room which was coming from the AC unit that was serviced the same day. During high season, we do not have rooms vacant so we must service in between check in-out time. We did not have any room to move your since the hotel was full the first night however, we offered you to move you for the remaining nights. You’ve made a choice to stay in the room after returning from your excursion. The following day, there was no respond from you if you wished to move. We do not use plastic cover for the beds. We have mattress pads that are waterproof which doesn’t mean it’s plastic. They are flush and adding more comfort at the same time add protection for mattress that are shared by many people. This is what all hotels practice and use. Our furniture are old as you mentioned. They were all custom made from local woods many of which are now illegal to cut. While the design might be outdated, the craftsmanship and quality of wood are top quality that i can assure you. While it’s easy to replace them with poorly made hotel grade furniture, we’ve decided to keep the charm of natural Costa Rica vibe, however, all of our furniture are clean and cared for each day from our housekeeping ladies. We completely understand that we do not share the same preference. We are sorry to hear that you’ve decided to leave but due to the cancelation policy and the reason being personal preference, there was no refund. We do hope that you enjoyed your trip to Costa Rica regardless.

    Hi Nicolas, We are very sorry to hear your stay with us was dissatisfactory. We recall your stay and would respond to your concerns. We constantly upkeep with daily uses in and out of the rooms including all the public areas, much like keep… Show more

    Mango Moon Villa
    4 August 2025
  • Kristy

    Reviewed: 6 March 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review

    We loved our stay at Mango Moon! The breakfast was good and the view is amazing. We stayed in the 2 bedroom room with one bathroom which is on the top floor. Our view was excellent. We could see the water and lots of wildlife. We saw capuchin monkeys, squirrel monkeys, macaws, and many other birds. The sunsets were amazing from here. The pool area is comfortable and we never had trouble finding a place to sit. The pool itself was very refreshing. The rooms could use a few easy updates. For example extension cords and coat hooks. There were only a few places to plug our electronics in and almost nowhere to hang towels or any clothes. One of our rooms has a large king bed which was comfortable. The other room had two single beds. The location is great, although you do have to walk a bit uphill to get to the main part of Manuel Antonio (a small bit of exercise!). To get down to the closest beach is definitely a trek though. Ubers were easy to get in the area as well.

    Property response:

    Hi Kristy, It sounds like you enjoyed your visit to Manuel Antonio! It makes all the difference when you are adjustable to different surroundings. Mango Moon is built of extra thick concrete to withstand frequent earthquakes by the original owner who was a builder. We learned that our walls are extra thick than what the building code requires during renovations. Often times, we decided not to break down or make a hole on the walls considering the integrity of the building. Non the less, having hooks and hangers can be accommodated easily and we will consider adding them! Thanks for your input which we appreciate very much.

    Hi Kristy, It sounds like you enjoyed your visit to Manuel Antonio! It makes all the difference when you are adjustable to different surroundings. Mango Moon is built of extra thick concrete to withstand frequent earthquakes by the original… Show more

    Mango Moon Villa
    4 August 2025
  • See the hotel
  • Lisa

    Reviewed: 4 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review

    Views and breakfast Breakfast staff was very nice Close to Manuel Antonio

    STANDARD Room- you get no views, it is tucked away in a corner, they have two of them room 5 and 9. Shower curtain was dirty. Walls are paper thin and sounds like people are having a conversation in your room. Curtains don’t cover the window fully. Drawers don’t open well. Restaurant - food is good but very expensive 21$ plus tax plus tip for a small poke bowl, and a not so happy hour with 9$ a cocktail

    Property response:

    Lisa, We are sorry to hear that you did not have a full and wonderful experience that many other guests do. Our standard room is priced from considering no ocean view and less desirably located compare to our higher catagory rooms. We will definitely review the drawers and curtain situation. We would have resolved them during your stay if we were aware. We do encourage our guests to report any inconveniences while staying so we will have a chance to address to make your stay more comfortable.

    Lisa, We are sorry to hear that you did not have a full and wonderful experience that many other guests do. Our standard room is priced from considering no ocean view and less desirably located compare to our higher catagory rooms. We will … Show more

    Mango Moon Villa
    4 August 2025
  • Alberto

    Reviewed: 27 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review

    The view was amazing. Staff is friendly. Hotel is centrally located. I would highly recommend this place and stay here again. There is also a very good Korean Bbq restaurant inside.

    Property response:

    Thank you Alberto for your wonderful review. We would be thrilled to have you back!

    Mango Moon Villa
    4 August 2025
  • William

    Reviewed: 6 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review

    The staff is absolutely fantastic!! Jefferson and Andre plus the entire staff was amazing.

    We had room #5. Only room without a view. Shower never really got hot and poor pressure. Our friend had room 11. Absolutely fantastic room. Great view, hot shower etc. and we paid the same price. Get room 11. All the other rooms had nice outside areas too. I just think I booked the wrong room. Do not get room #5.

    Property response:

    Hi William, We are sorry to hear that you had our standard room with no view. While you elected to chose standard room with no view/balcony, your friend stayed in rm11 which is in a different category with high rate. We only have 2 standard room since Mango Moon is known for its breathtaking ocean and jungle view from each room. We hope you had a better experience with us and perhaps there will be next time and as you shared, stay at rm11!

    Hi William, We are sorry to hear that you had our standard room with no view. While you elected to chose standard room with no view/balcony, your friend stayed in rm11 which is in a different category with high rate. We only have 2 stan… Show more

    Mango Moon Villa
    4 August 2025
  • See the hotel
  • Tim

    Reviewed: 6 February 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review

    Super friendly and personal staff, incredible view and location in the jungle and overlooking the ocean, and close enough to the beaches.

    Nothing really

    Property response:

    Thank you Tim for your wonderful review!

    Mango Moon Villa
    4 August 2025
  • Gretchen

    Reviewed: 3 February 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review

    The view from our balcony was so beautiful! The beds were comfy and the shower was great. We saw monkeys and macaws and tucans. The owners were also so friendly. The food in the restaurant was good, but breakfast felt overpriced to me.

    There was no coffee in our room and it wasn't entirely clear if it was free for guest. I helped myself every morning, and no one seemed to mind, but it would have been nice to know.

    Property response:

    Hi Gretchen, You are welcome to return anytime! Coffee at the dining room is for all our guests to enjoy so you were perfectly fine helping yourself to morning coffee.

    Mango Moon Villa
    5 February 2025
  • Zerin

    Reviewed: 2 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review

    The garden, pool, ocean view at the sunset with gorgeous birds flying around; this is how heaven should look like! Extra points for front desk and kitchen staff, they went above and beyond to make our stay unforgettable.

    Property response:

    Thank you Zein to share your experience at the Mango Moon with other travelers. We are thrilled to hear that you’ve enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back soon!

    Mango Moon Villa
    5 February 2025
  • See the hotel
  • Daniel

    Reviewed: 30 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review

    From the check in to check out we had a great experience. I think it was Anderson who we worked with the most and he was exceptionally helpful and friendly. The cook that made the breakfasts was sweet and did a nice job with the omelettes and the bar/happy hour drinks were good too! We enjoyed the pool. The beach was not convenient to get to however so be aware. We only stayed 2 nights to experience Manuel Antonio. The room was small but clean and perfect for our short stay. The views are beautiful from the restaurant, pool and the room we had. I would not recommend for families but for couples it’s perfect. We had a car, you can walk to things but on a busy narrow road that has killer hills. Just be aware. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant one night and it was very good. You do need a reservation as they only have a few tables.

    Property response:

    Thank you Daniel for your detailed review. Fellow travelers would benefit from your description. Manuel Antonio is located on the hilltop overlooking the Pacific Ocean. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for staying with us.

    Thank you Daniel for your detailed review. Fellow travelers would benefit from your description. Manuel Antonio is located on the hilltop overlooking the Pacific Ocean. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you f… Show more

    Mango Moon Villa
    5 February 2025
  • Amanda

    Reviewed: 29 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review

    The views, location, pool and breakfast were great.

    The price is inflated but that seems to be the norm for the area. My husband made a reservation at the restaurant for my birthday. When we arrived they had to get a table ready, they didn’t acknowledge my birthday so that was a disappointment.

    Property response:

    Hi Amanda, Costa Rica is on the expensive side of the scale unfortunately. We wish it is more affordable for more travelers to visit. We apologize for missing your birthday moment. We would have had a birthday dessert for you and of course the song and dance too. We hope that your stay was enjoyable regardless and had a wonderful birthday!

    Hi Amanda, Costa Rica is on the expensive side of the scale unfortunately. We wish it is more affordable for more travelers to visit. We apologize for missing your birthday moment. We would have had a birthday dessert for you and of course … Show more

    Mango Moon Villa
    5 February 2025
  • Jill

    Reviewed: 27 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review

    Great location overlooking tree tops and the sea. Staff were all helpful and friendly and always eager to help. Some fabulous sunsets while sharing some cocktails from the terrace bar!

    Pool and surrounding area needed a little tlc and clean up.

    Property response:

    Hi Jill, Thanks for staying with us. We hope you enjoyed your stay and the jungle around us.

    Mango Moon Villa
    5 February 2025
  • See the hotel
  • Elise

    Reviewed: 19 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review
  • Mehmet

    Reviewed: 13 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review

    Nice breakfast, incredible view, rooms were clean and orderly.

    The restaurant needs some work, I dont really understand the korean food vibe here too much.

    Property response:

    Hi Mehmet, The hotel is owned by a family of Korean/American. The owner resides on site and she is the chef of the Korean restaurant. Perhaps you were staying during her absent. We would have explained to you if you asked any staff member. All staffs are part of family and that makes Mango Moon a welcoming and comfortable place to stay

    Hi Mehmet, The hotel is owned by a family of Korean/American. The owner resides on site and she is the chef of the Korean restaurant. Perhaps you were staying during her absent. We would have explained to you if you asked any staff member.… Show more

    Mango Moon Villa
    5 February 2025
  • Ana

    Reviewed: 12 January 2025 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review
  • See the hotel
  • Jemma

    Reviewed: 7 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review

    This is a little gem in Manuel Antonio. The view is absolutely beautiful (perfect to watch sunset), the restaurant serves the most delicious food and drinks, the rooms are cosy and the staff are truly wonderful and do everything to help you. Special shout out to Jeff, Lillian and Jorge! It’s a short walk from the beach as well as the supermarket, ATM and restaurants. We would definitely stay again.

    Our only feedback would be that it would be helpful to have a safe in the room.

    Property response:

    Hi Jemma, Thanks for your wonderful review. I am surprised to hear there was no safe in your room. We are very sorry for the inconvenience. I am happy to share there are safe in every room now

    Mango Moon Villa
    5 February 2025
  • Andrew

    Reviewed: 30 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review

    Great hotel in Manuel Antonio and a short walk to some bars and restaurants. Staff were super friendly and accommodating. Lovely view!

  • Elaine

    Reviewed: 16 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review

    The staff, Jefferson and other front desk plus the restaurant team were all super friendly and helpful. Food at restaurant was very good. The room we stayed in was very quiet and had a good view( we paid extra for a superior room) which is good but it had more drawbacks as outlined below.

    Our superior room had a lack of privacy with no full length curtains or full coverage curtains. At night you had to turn the light off to get changed and we also had to place bags around the bottom of the windows which faced the pool so people couldn’t look in to the room.. The sliding patio doors to our balcony were very bad quality and the fly screen door wouldn’t stay in place so was not useful at all. The room was generally tired and could do with a revamp. It felt more like backpacker accommodation as opposed to a general hotel accommodation. Items listed on Booking.com that we should’ve had in our superior room were not available to us, hairdryer, tea and coffee facilities etc. This was the last of our hotels on our Costa Rica trip and we stayed at numerous three star hotels and this by far the most disappointing room. We did try and raise our concerns of privacy and level of disappointment with the room with the owner/manager but they said they were too busy to see us and to email them . We have written and emailed them several times and only had a curt acknowledgment response with no offer of refund - as we left two nights early and moved to Shana by the beach hotel which is 500 m down the road, same price if you include the breakfast and was really far superior to mango.

  • See the hotel
  • Hugh

    Reviewed: 15 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review
  • Pierre

    Reviewed: 13 December 2024 · Stayed in November 2024

    Verified review
  • Alice

    Reviewed: 8 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review

    The view was incredible. Breakfast buffet was really nice. Comfortable bed. Free beach towels

    Nothing

  • See the hotel
  • Michele

    Reviewed: 4 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review

    Good location for walking to the beach in one direction and to restaurants in the other. We saw howler and squirrel monkeys from our balcony and sloths across the street. It was nice having the restaurant right next door, and a great view from there. The apartment itself had everything we needed and was comfortable.

    Being right on the road, you hear and smell the traffic going by and parking/backing out onto the road is tough.

  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

Hotel Schere

Northeim, Germany

Chinatown Hotel Chicago

Chicago, United States

Hotel Christiania

La Clusaz, France

Casa Luz

Lires, Spain

Casa Georgescu

Râşnov, Romania

Apartment Mediteraneo

Makarska, Croatia

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...