8.7

Reviews of Château de la Râpée Hôtel restaurant 3 stars

Château de la Râpée, 27140 Bazincourt-sur-Epte, France

  • Cédric

    Reviewed: 27 August 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review
  • Roel

    Reviewed: 18 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    great atmosphere, really felt the king in the castle. Spacious rooms and excellent dinner

    only one charging spot for electric cars, which was occupied during our visit

  • Rupert

    Reviewed: 16 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • See the hotel
  • Calum

    Reviewed: 15 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Very well run by excellent people

    A bit away from any facilities but only for cyclists

  • Sharon

    Reviewed: 10 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    we were looking for a chateau experience and this is what it gave, the staff where friendly the rooms where lovely and the food was good to.

  • Paul

    Reviewed: 10 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • See the hotel
  • Mac

    Reviewed: 9 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    We stayed at Château de la Râpée Hôtel Restaurant for one night. The setting is beautiful, the room was clean with all the basic amenities, and the staff we encountered were friendly. However, the experience overall was simply “okay” rather than memorable, and two key issues stood out. Check-in timing – The hotel clearly states check-in is from 4 pm, but we had assumed (as many guests might) that arriving a little earlier to enjoy a drink at the bar would be possible. Instead, the doors were locked until exactly 4 pm. Several other guests also arrived early and were equally surprised. A clearer statement on the booking confirmation would prevent misunderstandings. Half-board clarity – The most disappointing aspect of our stay. We were offered a half-board option at €39 per person, which we reasonably assumed included both dinner and breakfast (a standard interpretation in most hotels). Instead, we were charged €39 per person for dinner plus €16 per person for a very basic breakfast. When we raised the issue, staff showed no willingness to acknowledge or resolve the matter. In addition, dinner is a fixed menu with no choice—on our night, the main course was fish, which is fine if you like fish, but there was no alternative offered. This lack of transparency and flexibility left a poor impression. Overall, while the château’s location and charm are undeniable, the unclear pricing and inflexible dining arrangements meant our stay was simply pleasant at best—not one we would rush to repeat.

    Half-board offer needs to be clarified & the fact that we couldn't get into the hotel before check-in time

    Property response:

    Hello Mac, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're glad you enjoyed the château's setting, the cleanliness of your room, and the staff's hospitality—we're truly touched. We're sorry that some aspects of your stay didn't meet your expectations. As a small provincial hotel, we have logistical constraints that unfortunately prevent us from being open 24/7. Our team, while dedicated, also needs its downtime to ensure quality service throughout the day. That's why the doors remain closed until the official opening time of 4 p.m. (Mondays and Tuesdays only). That said, we understand that this may have come as a surprise, and we will make sure to make this information more prominently displayed when you confirm your reservation. Regarding the half-board option, it wasn't a "fixed price" in the traditional sense, but a half-board menu, offered at €39 per person for dinner only. Breakfast is indeed charged separately at €16, which is specified on-site, but we recognize that this can be confusing and will review the wording for greater clarity. Finally, our half-board menu is a fixed menu, prepared daily by our chef using fresh produce. We understand that this may not suit all tastes, and we will consider ways to offer greater flexibility, within our means. We hope that you will nevertheless retain fond memories of the place, and that we may have the opportunity to welcome you again in conditions better suited to your expectations. Sincerely, The Château de la Rapée Team

    Hello Mac, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're glad you enjoyed the château's setting, the cleanliness of your room, and the staff's hospitality—we're truly touched. We're sorry that some aspe… Show more

    Château de la Râpée Hôtel restaurant
    9 August 2025
  • Howardl+

    Reviewed: 8 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Location was good.

    Had to request the he bedding be changed on our double bed - it hadn't been done. The pool was "murky" - could barely see the bottom of it, so we did not swim (we are keen swimmers and used to rivers, lakes etc). Broken loo seat in bathroom. Broken bathroom floor tiles. Very old, very worn carpet. We cancelled our dinner and breakfast and opted to eat out, so can't comment on food. Just an old and tired property - we were in room 24, so can't comment about others. All very disappointing.

    Property response:

    Hello Howard, Thank you for taking the time to share your feelings. Although we are deeply saddened by this, we would like to assure you that we have read your comment very carefully and seriously. We acknowledge without reservation that we were at fault. What happened in no way reflects the values we uphold or the experience we wish to offer our customers. We offer our sincere apologies for this unfortunate situation. Please be assured that disciplinary measures have been taken against the person concerned, and that we have initiated an internal review to ensure that this type of incident does not happen again. Every customer is important to us, and it is essential that everyone feels welcomed with respect, generosity and professionalism. We would be delighted to welcome you back under better circumstances and introduce you to our cuisine as we love it: authentic, generous and made with passion. This would be a wonderful opportunity for us to show you that we are committed to doing things right. And of course, during your next visit, we will naturally offer you a gesture of goodwill. This is our way of thanking you for your indulgence and showing you our sincere desire to make up for any inconvenience caused. With our warmest regards, The Château de la Rapée team

    Hello Howard, Thank you for taking the time to share your feelings. Although we are deeply saddened by this, we would like to assure you that we have read your comment very carefully and seriously. We acknowledge without reservation that w… Show more

    Château de la Râpée Hôtel restaurant
    9 August 2025
  • Alan

    Reviewed: 6 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • See the hotel
  • Sally

    Reviewed: 5 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    A beautiful chateau in a tranquil setting. From arrival to departure, our stay was more than we had hoped for. The welcome and friendliness of all the staff added to the stay. Michele is a fabulous host. Our room had double aspect views over the countryside. The room was big and nicely furnished. The bed was so comfortable that we didn’t want to get up. We had dinner in the restaurant and had the delicious 60€ menu. A gastronomic treat that was great value for money. We were there to celebrate our wedding anniversary and wanted something special. That is exactly what we got. We will definitely be back.

  • Karen

    Reviewed: 29 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Great rural location, beautiful building, lovely staff. Original decor, lots of seating indoor and outdoor, nice outdoor pool. Excellent chef and good food and service. We really enjoyed our stay.

    No assistance offered with bags when my partner has visible disability. But in no way spoiled our stay as I am very independant and everything else was fabulous.

  • Grant

    Reviewed: 28 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    The people very friendly

  • See the hotel
  • Anonymous

    Reviewed: 27 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    A great place and interesting building

  • Anonymous

    Reviewed: 10 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • Lawrence

    Reviewed: 10 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Incredible stay. Pool was an absolute treat and food incredible. Thanks so much!

    Nothing

  • See the hotel
  • Iva

    Reviewed: 5 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • Christine

    Reviewed: 2 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Charming room in charming setting.

    WiFi was patchy.

  • Peter

    Reviewed: 24 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Peaceful location and pretty house, but needs a lot of work - not very clean, lots of maintenance and repairs needed. All rather tired and shabby.

    A chronicle of expensive disasters, but they never once apologised! The curtains and rail fell down during the night when their staff had all gone home. We didn't call them on. their emergency number, but next morning they said "oh well you should have called and we could have found your another room". Not "sorry." We ate dinner there (60 euros each plus wine + supplements). The blue steak was overcooked. When we requested a replacement, they reluctantly accepted, but again no apology. Obviously, as a couple, we ended up eating at different times while they cooked another steak. Again no apology or even acknowledgement that this was unfortunate. We asked for a carafe of water (not their overpriced bottles). When it arrived it was actually hot water. Asked for a replacement, they said they knew it was hot - how peculiar is that? - and again, still no apology. When we left, we complained to the manager that we were unhappy with the stay for all the above reasons. He very magnanimously offered to reduce our bill to the tune of 16 euros (two aperitifs), so the bill was only £254 for one night without breakfast. And still no apology! Customer service, not a trace..

  • See the hotel
  • Matthew

    Reviewed: 20 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Charming property with friendly staff and proprietors, lovely food.

    Trickier to find if you approach from the “wrong” direction

  • Stijn

    Reviewed: 16 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    The pool is nice. The castle looks as beautiful from the inside as from the outside. And it's nice and quiet, located in a remote area.

    However, instead of quiet en peace, there was the continuous sound of landmowing during the day, and a lot of musquitos in the room during the night. The rooms were not really clean, with stains everywhere. Due to the remoteness you are somewhat forced to eat in the restaurant, which has a luxurious vibe, but unfortunately is very expensive for very simple classic French dishes

  • John

    Reviewed: 1 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    Staff were very friendly and helpful

    There was a wedding group and it was very noisy outside our room. Can’t be helped i guess.

  • See the hotel
  • Elaine

    Reviewed: 26 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    The location was great, set in countryside with lots of mature trees around the Chateau. Especially good if you like horses. Our room had a balcony overlooking the pony ring and countryside, great views. The staff were all very friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

    Our main course of veal was not to our liking as it was too salty and swimming in gravy, sitting on top of wilted lettuce and topped with sliced raw mushrooms (very odd). My boiled eggs at breakfast were almost raw, so best not to ask for boiled eggs. When we paid, my glass of pink champagne was free of charge as a result, so the issues were graciously accepted and compensated. The Chateau is not easy to find using sat nav, as it keeps sending you back into Bazincourt, some 3-4 miles away. Ignore the sat nav and follow local brown edged signs, then hotel signs through the forest instead.

  • Anthony

    Reviewed: 25 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review
  • Ian

    Reviewed: 22 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    beautiful building, and location. we were looked after by the staff very well would stay again

    Creaky floorboards but comes with the boldness of the property

  • See the hotel
  • John

    Reviewed: 14 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    A lovely converted chateau full of character. The room was enormous and comfortable. Dinner was excellent and service impeccable. This has gone on my list of places to return to.

    Nothing.

  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

Pousada Villa Capivary Campos do Jordão

Campos do Jordão, Brazil

L'Ottava

Monte Compatri, Italy

Marilena Apartments

Gavalochori, Greece

Whitewater Apartment 101

Torquay, Australia

Apartment Mita

Grožnjan, Croatia

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...