Reviews of New Gate Hostel
3 Paratroopers Road, Jerusalem, 91204, Israel

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 28 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewBreakfast/location/clean
Shower water could be wamer
Reviewed: 22 October 2023 · Stayed in October 2023
Verified reviewEverything was great. Super kind people, especially manager, she was really helpful, smiling all time and she really cares about hostel. Super position - near old Jerusalem city, great price for accomodation near city, delicious and good breakfast. Bathrooms and toilets were clean and maintained, same for beds and rooms. I recommend this hostel by all my fingers, 10/10. Best choice for solo travellers on budget.
Snoring guy in our room :D, but it's not hostel's mistake. It's not really easy to find the hostel part, as it's part of Notredame Jerusalem hotel, but it's not big deal, you can always ask people around or security guys at reception.
Reviewed: 18 October 2023 · Stayed in October 2023
Verified reviewJumana was friendly and helpful at all times 5 star . The building was very clean and breakfast good.
Nothing
Reviewed: 12 October 2023 · Stayed in October 2023
Verified reviewReviewed: 9 October 2023 · Stayed in October 2023
Verified reviewThe breakfast was excellent. The location was perfect. The Manager was friendly and kind.
Four beds in a tiny room made it too crowded. The bathrooms are too far from the rooms, when we get up in the middle of the night. The Lobby floor and furniture needs lots of attention.
Reviewed: 8 October 2023 · Stayed in October 2023
Verified reviewGood
Rooms to small for 4 people Tiolets too far No privacy
Dear valued guest, Thank you for your feedback, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at The School Hostel. We are taking into consideration the notes below to enhance our performance. Looking forward to welcoming you at The School Hostel again. Regards, The Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for your feedback, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at The School Hostel. We are taking into consideration the notes below to enhance our performance. Looking forward to welcoming you at The School … Show more
Reviewed: 8 October 2023 · Stayed in October 2023
Verified reviewExcellent place to stay near the old town. Clean beds, spacious rooms and nice people!
Dear valued guest, Thank you for your feedback, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at The School Hostel. We will be looking forward to welcoming you again. Regards, The Management
Reviewed: 7 October 2023 · Stayed in October 2023
Verified reviewReviewed: 4 October 2023 · Stayed in October 2023
Verified reviewPremium location really close to the entrance to the old city of Jerusalem. Really affordable and it even included breakfast. Staff were accommodating. Clean towels were provided every day. Strong Wifi signal (I had several zoom meetings with video and shared screen without issues). They recently started running the hostel and they are still working on improving the facilities. I'm sure they will soon have an amazing hostel. I extended my initial 2-night stay for an extra night because of the location and the price.
I booked a bed in a 4-bed room but got a bed in an 8-bed (4 bulk beds) room. I asked the staff and they said there were no male 4-bed rooms. There were no truly secure lockers to leave valuables in. The drawers in the room didn't have working keys either rings or anything to use a personal lock. Some guests were using the lockers outside the rooms, but they had small fragile keys that felt like anyone could open them if they really wanted. One of the two showers had a broken soap dispenser (no shampoo), so I had to make sure to bring my own soap and shampoo. The shower doors do not hold the water in, so the floors around the showers are wet. There was only one receptionist/manager for the hostel, who was very helpful, but only on site on a limited (office hours like) schedule.
Dear valued guest, Thank you for your feedback, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at The School Hostel. We will be looking forward to welcoming you again As per your other feedback. We are taking into consideration the notes below to enhance our performance. Regards, The Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for your feedback, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at The School Hostel. We will be looking forward to welcoming you again As per your other feedback. We are taking into consideration the notes below… Show more
Reviewed: 26 September 2023 · Stayed in September 2023
Verified review-Excellent location right next to the New gate and 5mins walk to Jaffa Gate, really close to pop back to during the day when out and about. -Lovely breakfast each morning, included in the price -Quiet location, you can hear a bit of traffic but it's not too bad -Nice, welcoming, warm manager working in the office :) -Very clean rooms and toilets
- The doors don't have locks. there is security at the entrance as it's shared with the Notre Dame hotel, the security seems good but I carried all valuables around with me when leaving the room to be sure. -I arrived after hours and there were no staff on the premises and I didn't have any instructions for check-in. After 10mins of walking around and up/down the stairs with a heavy backpack, I went to the hotel reception where I could check in. For anyone arriving after hours, an email/text with some instructions would be helpful -This is a great hostel for those who want a quiet and convenient base when travelling, it is not a social hostel where you'll have social opportunities/parties. It is like a school dorm, just rooms, bathrooms and a small lounge. No bar/rooftop/24hr reception or networking.
Dear valued guest, Thank you for your feedback, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at the School Hostel. We are taking into consideration the notes above to enhance our performance. Looking forward to welcoming you at the School Hostel again. Thank you, The Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for your feedback, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at the School Hostel. We are taking into consideration the notes above to enhance our performance. Looking forward to welcoming you at the School … Show more
Reviewed: 22 September 2023 · Stayed in September 2023
Verified reviewExcellent experience all around. The location is fabulous, across the street from the New Gate into the Old City, and a 10 minute walk to the Jaffa Gate. Also a 20 minute walk to many other landmarks, such as the Montefiore Windmill or the King David hotel. Also, the light rail goes right by, so you can take it from or to the main train station or to Yad vshem . The hostel is located in the historic Notre Dame of Jerusalem Center complex, in a beautiful stone building that used to be an adult professional school. Even though it is on the light rail line, once you are within the complex, it is quiet and serene. The hostel is clean, beds are comfortable, and the breakfast, of pita, humus, several cheeses, eggs, vegetables, and meats, is wholesome and fresh. Jumana, the manager, is very attentive to the guests. For instance, I asked for an electric kettle so we could make our own coffee during the day, and within an hour we had a coffee set-up on the table of our dorm room. Thank you, Jumara, for all you do.
This hostel is a bit hard to find, unless you know that it is part of the Notre Dame of Jerusalem Center, and that the street name, Paratroopers Road, is actually Hatzanchanim. That’s the way it appears on the street signs, and on Google Maps ( at least for me). Enter the Notre Dame Center past the security guards, and turn right to go down the steps to the School Hostel.
Dear valued guest, Thank you for your feedback, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at The School Hostel. We will be looking forward to welcoming you again. Thank you, The Management
Reviewed: 28 August 2023 · Stayed in August 2023
Verified reviewThe facilities were amazing--clean, fresh, and safe. The staff are exceptionally friendly and well organised. The location is excellent! The breakfast is delicious. This is a gem hidden in plain sight for travellers of all sorts!
None to speak of.
Dear valued guest, Thank you for your feedback, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at The School Hostel. We will be looking forward to welcoming you again. Thank you, The Management
Reviewed: 27 June 2023 · Stayed in May 2023
Verified reviewlocation, free parking and beautiful breakfast
Dear valued guest, Thank you for your feedback, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at the School Hostel. We will be looking forward to welcoming you again. Thank you, The Management
Reviewed: 4 June 2023 · Stayed in June 2023
Verified reviewcleanliness and the courteous, excellent service provided by Jumana!
paper towels in women’s washroom were too thin and broke a part, so hard to use
Dear valued guest, Thank you for your feedback, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at the School Hostel. We will be looking forward to welcoming you again. We are taking into consideration the notes below to enhance our performance. Looking forward to welcoming you at the School Hostel again. Thank you, The Management
Dear valued guest, Thank you for your feedback, we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay at the School Hostel. We will be looking forward to welcoming you again. We are taking into consideration the notes below to enhance our performance… Show more