9.3

Reviews of The Old School House - Gaulverjaskoli

Gaulverjaskóli, 801 Selfoss, Iceland

  • Julie

    Reviewed: 31 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    The owners have created a home with a lovely, warm, welcoming vibe - it feels like you're an honored guest at a special hidden villa. The rooms are small, but scrupulously clean and cleverly laid out so there's plenty of room to relax. Beds are very cozy and comfortable, and the views across the field in the morning is stunning. By far the most magical place is the garden "room" - really a huge greenhouse linking the main house to the kitchen. It's just gorgeous, with flowers and vines and greenery everywhere you look, little twinkly lights, and sitting areas for eating, gathering with a big group, or just curling up with a book.

    (really this was my own fault for being unprepared) There is a large communal kitchen which is currently meant for self-catering, ie, bring and prepare your own food. I didn't realize this until it was too late (in Selfoss, a traditional small town, things close on the early side) so we had morning tea and went to a bakery in town for breakfast (GK Bakeri, btw, was great). Next time I'll take better advantage of the kitchen and really enjoy the morning light and plants and farm life in the distance...

  • Garment

    Reviewed: 31 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Beautiful greenhouse area for lounging around

    Nothing!

  • Kate

    Reviewed: 27 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    The property is really beautiful - the decor is tasteful,warm and friendly. It has a hot tub and a cold plunge and a huge kitchen. There is a garden/conservatory linking the kitchen to the house which is simply wonderful filled with amazing plants with lots of seating. It is nothing like anywhere else we have stayed and stands out from the rest of the accommodation available in Iceland.

    Nothing it was all great

  • See the property
  • Erika

    Reviewed: 24 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Such a lovely, cozy place with welcoming hosts.

  • Andruszkiewicz

    Reviewed: 24 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    .

    I’m sorry to say that my experience at this property was disappointing. The atmosphere felt restrictive rather than welcoming, and I did not feel the stay was worth the money. The room itself felt claustrophobic—almost like being in a prison. The mattress was extremely uncomfortable, and the bed made loud noises every time I moved. Bathrooms lacked any space for toiletries or cosmetics, and the rooms were poorly refurbished. We were asked to take off our shoes as soon as we entered, which felt inappropriate for paying guests in a guest house. Every door was labelled with reminders to close them quietly. While I understand the intention behind these policies, they collectively made us feel quite unwelcome and uncomfortable. My parents even felt they had to whisper during their stay. When we left, we all felt relieved to get back to the car and drive away. I genuinely dislike leaving negative reviews, but in this case, I feel it’s necessary for the benefit of future guests and for the host to be aware of these issues

    Property response:

    Dear Daniel, When we first read your review, we were half-convinced you had stayed somewhere else entirely! We’re truly sorry that your experience wasn’t what you’d hoped for, as our aim is always to offer a warm and authentic stay — though we must admit, the comparison to a prison gave us quite the chuckle. Our request to remove shoes or hiking boots indoors is simply an Icelandic custom — and a very practical one for keeping mud, snow, and volcanic ash out of the house :) The two small door signs are not rules to monitor anyone, but gentle reminders to help keep things peaceful in a shared space. We did notice your parents were very quiet, and assumed it was simply due to language barriers or shyness — we respect that each guest brings their own vibe. As for the rooms, they are intentionally simple — more “Scandi/English cottage charm” than modern hotel style. While this may not be to everyone’s taste, many of our guests tell us they find it cozy and authentic. We’ll certainly take on board your comments about the mattress and bathroom storage — those are practical points we can improve on. Every guest arrives with different expectations, and it’s clear that our guesthouse wasn’t the right match for you. Still, we sincerely wish you happier travels ahead.

    Dear Daniel, When we first read your review, we were half-convinced you had stayed somewhere else entirely! We’re truly sorry that your experience wasn’t what you’d hoped for, as our aim is always to offer a warm and authentic stay — though… Show more

    The Old School House - Gaulverjaskoli
    26 August 2025
  • David

    Reviewed: 19 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    The rooms are cozy, well maintained and equipped. Beds are superb. The kitchen and sitting area offer room for homely interaction with other guests. No dinner or breakfast but this is known beforehand. A very relaxed place to start your golden circle adventure! Take some supplies with you. There are fridges at the hotel and a supermarket 15 minutes away.

    Nothing

  • See the property
  • Isabel

    Reviewed: 17 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    The staff was incredibly friendly, the garden was breathtaking, and the kitchen was very clean and spacious.

  • Avani

    Reviewed: 15 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • Helery

    Reviewed: 12 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Joerg

    Reviewed: 27 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    A beautifully charming remodeled old building with perfectly decorated rooms at a peaceful location. The owners are very welcoming and helpful. We also appreciated the kitchen we could use despite a late arrival .

    Property response:

    Thank you Joerg - glad you liked it - we enjoyed having you stay here! 😊

    The Old School House - Gaulverjaskoli
    12 August 2025
  • John

    Reviewed: 25 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Very well appointed . Roomy. Owners personable and helpful.Good, typically Icelandic building.Reasonable distance from Keflavik airport.

    No issues.

    Property response:

    Thank you John - we are glad you liked it here! 😊

    The Old School House - Gaulverjaskoli
    12 August 2025
  • Cynthia

    Reviewed: 24 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    An amazing bed and breakfast self breakfast not a host breakfast.

    The cleanliness her plans it was just amazing

    Property response:

    Thank you Cynthia!! We enjoyed your stay with us!! 😊

    The Old School House - Gaulverjaskoli
    12 August 2025
  • See the property
  • Rebecca

    Reviewed: 23 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Remodeled comfortable and unique included patio space.

    Nothing

    Property response:

    Thank you Rebecca!! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay here 😊

    The Old School House - Gaulverjaskoli
    12 August 2025
  • Tram

    Reviewed: 18 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    The house is so unique and beautifully designed. I felt at home and relaxed. The garden and kitchen are the main attractions. I love having the huge kitchen space and dining area to use. It was very surreal siting in the garden with the midnight light and contemplated on life. The hosts are very welcoming and helpful.

    If there is an improvement, the mattress is very soft and the bed makes lots of noise with the slightest move. Other than that, everything is perfect.

    Property response:

    Thank you for choosing to stay with us - so glad you enjoyed it!! 😊 We appreciate the feedback ! We are so lost with people and mattresses - sometimes one person says too soft and few weeks later someone else says too hard 😆🤷‍♀️ but 99.9% people don't mention it at all ... so we just go with that.

    Thank you for choosing to stay with us - so glad you enjoyed it!! 😊 We appreciate the feedback ! We are so lost with people and mattresses - sometimes one person says too soft and few weeks later someone else says too hard 😆🤷‍♀️ but 99.… Show more

    The Old School House - Gaulverjaskoli
    12 August 2025
  • Jóhannsdóttir

    Reviewed: 16 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    We had such a wonderful stay at the Old School House. Honestly, part of me wants to gatekeep this place – but of course I won’t. As a half-Icelandic person, this has definitely become one of my new favorite spots to stay in the countryside. We loved the garden, which was open for everyone to use. We actually ended up staying in for both dinner and breakfast, even though we had plans to go out and eat at restaurants. But the garden was just too cozy – we couldn’t resist. We also really enjoyed the hot tub and had an amazing evening watching the sunset. The kitchen and bedrooms were super clean and comfortable. Would definitely recommend this place to anyone traveling to Iceland. Magnea and Greg were so lovely and welcoming. You can really feel that they care and want you to have the best stay possible. 10/10, would recommend!:))

    The Wifi was a bit slow at times, but nothing major.

    Property response:

    It was a pleasure having you stay with us - thank you so much !! 😊

    The Old School House - Gaulverjaskoli
    12 August 2025
  • See the property
  • David

    Reviewed: 12 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review
    Property response:

    Many thanks for choosing to stay here - so happy you enjoyed it!! 😊

    The Old School House - Gaulverjaskoli
    12 August 2025
  • Aletta

    Reviewed: 9 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Lovely owners and absolutely charming little hotel/hostel with much attention to detail and a personal touch to everything. Our kids loved the hot and cold tub. The Old School House features a stunning greenhouse sitting area, perfect for relaxing, reading and chatting (under a heating lamp when it gets too cool). Beds were very comfy. Good distance from sweet little town of Selfoss and good location for exploring the Golden Triangle on your way back to Reykjavik if that's were you are heading.

    Shampoo in the bathrooms would be nice

    Property response:

    Thank you so much for staying and for your kind words! 😊

    The Old School House - Gaulverjaskoli
    12 August 2025
  • Lashnits

    Reviewed: 8 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    The place was clearly very thoughtfully designed, decorated, and well cared for. The plants in the greenhouse porch area were amazing!! That whole space was so calming and beautiful. The kitchen was very spacious and impeccably cleaned. Hosts were very friendly and kind. We didn’t get a chance to try the hot tub and cold plunge but I was happy they were there.

    Property response:

    Thank you for your kind words - it was a pleasure having you stay here.

    The Old School House - Gaulverjaskoli
    8 July 2025
  • See the property
  • Sreekumar

    Reviewed: 6 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Very good location for doing the golden circle route. The property is well maintained and nicely decorated. The owners stay at the property. They were very welcoming and helped us settle down. Our room had one queen bed and two built in bunk beds for the kids. The kids loved their bunk beds. They have a nice glass house, hot tub and a big kitchen to accommodate the guests. Overall a fantastic stay.

    No complaints.

    Property response:

    Thank you for your kind words - it was a pleasure having you stay here.

    The Old School House - Gaulverjaskoli
    8 July 2025
  • Maisie

    Reviewed: 29 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Area was beautiful, the house was lovely and so nicely decorated. The outdoor area especially was really nice and the kitchen large and very well equipped!

    Property response:

    Thank you for staying with us and for your kind words 😊

    The Old School House - Gaulverjaskoli
    2 July 2025
  • Anonymous

    Reviewed: 6 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    The location is amazing out in the peaceful country side but close to a lot of day trip potentials including Selfoss, Reykjavik, lava tunnels and more. The use of the beautiful kitchen is a bonus to save from eating out all the time. The garden/courtyard and hot tub/cold plunge areas are soothing after a long day of activities. This would be an amazing place to hold a retreat or group. When I checked in the Icelandic Roots database I’m related to Magnea, but she and Greg treated me like family before knowing that. Love this place!

    There was nothing I didn’t like…

    Property response:

    Its was incredible to see that we are related few generations back!! 😊 Thank you so much for your wonderful words - so happy you enjoyed your stay ❤️

    The Old School House - Gaulverjaskoli
    6 June 2025
  • See the property
  • Jan

    Reviewed: 3 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    We had a wonderful stay at Gaulverjaskoli. Magnea and Greg are very warm hosts and have created a charming place to stay. The rooms are very cozy and clean and have everything you need. The shared kitchen and the charming winter garden were also great. It was a wonderful place to linger and chat with the other guests. The kitchen itself is well equipped for cooking. Magnea and Greg had very good recommendations for activities in the area and selfoss was a great base for horse riding, driving to the golden circle and hiking to hot springs. We can highly recommend this accommodation.

    Property response:

    Thank you so much for your kind words!! So happy you enjoyed your stay ❤️

    The Old School House - Gaulverjaskoli
    6 June 2025
  • Daria

    Reviewed: 3 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    Beautiful house inside and outside. It really feels that the hosts love their house and everything is done with love and care. There’s an awesome garden with many plants. Everything is fresh new and we would really recommend this place for our friends who visit Iceland.

    I know it’s not the Airbnb, but it would be really nice to have a shampoo for visitors and 2 towels for each person. Also there was a coffee but it would be great to have tea also.

    Property response:

    Thank you for your kind words. So glad you enjoyed your stay. We'll take on board your feedback 😊

    The Old School House - Gaulverjaskoli
    6 June 2025
  • Andria

    Reviewed: 21 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    Super clean and excellent facilities. The kitchen was large and very well stocked. The house was so lovely and charming with such a soulful vibe. The hosts put a lot of love into it and you can feel and see it in the details making it a very enjoyable and comfortable place to stay. The hot tub and cold plunge was such a treat. The oasis/ garden in the house a perfectly relaxing place to unwind. The hosts were so friendly, super informative, accommodating and welcoming… thank you so much for sharing your beautiful home with us!

  • See the property
  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

Chalet Stelle Di Neve

Bormio, Italy

Loreta Hotel

Prague, Czech Republic

Hotel Davileja

San Gil, Colombia

Terme di Traiano

Rome, Italy

Appartementhotel Sonnenhof

Kössen, Austria

Village Tours Madrid

Madrid, Spain

Marias House

Haapsalu, Estonia

BMC Apartment

Albury, Australia

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...