Reviews of Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius 5 stars
Turtle Bay, Balaclava, Mauritius

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
Stockholm, Sweden
Tokyo, Japan
Muscat, Oman
Yalta, Crimea
Şaru Dornei, Romania
Chadlington, United Kingdom
Victoria, Canada
Wrocław, Poland
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 29 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewWe were returning customers to the Maritim Mauritius, so knew generally what to expect. We were again blown away by the quality of customer services from every level of staff as well as the quality of the hotel as a whole. The general restaurant food quality was really very good and having vegetarians in our family group, it's fair to say that veg and non-veg are well catered for. The main buffet restaurant has been re-vamped in recent years, with a very wide selection of starters, mains, salads etc. The bedroom (superior) was great, loads of room and a very comfy and enormous bed with a good view through the palm trees to the sea. Other restaurants were equally great with a pan-Asian, a beach side, and a BBQ/grill/Pizza "sand in your toes" one as well. The pools were a great size (a little chilly initially, but we stayed in for ages). There is also a variety of water sports available, glass bottom boats and snorkelling trips, plus a stable for horse riding along the beach, mini and full golf (extra), plus of course a lively spa. Something for everyone! All in all, we would recommend going without any hesitation. The big plus was the customer service. We cannot fault the level of care and genuine pleasure they get from seeing customers have the best experience. Any issue or question is dealt with immediately. In a nutshell, we absolutely loved our stay. We did have one problem with the booking (via Booking.com) whereby arranging two rooms (one with 2 adults, the other with two adults and a child): the system would not enable us to book a superior double which we knew had a sofa bed, but would default to make us book a third room/junior suite (extra cost). We had numerous frustrating calls with Booking.com to make sure the child was included on the booking in two rooms, which we eventually resolved.
No real grumbles at all to be honest, everything was as good or better that we would expect from a 5 star hotel. The main issue was wityh the actual booking process which added unnecessary stress.
Dear Preiya, Thank you so much for this excellent review that makes us very proud and truly motivated. It's always a pleasure to welcome back loyal guests like you, and your kind words are a wonderful reward for our team's efforts. We are delighted you had another memorable stay with us. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon! Warm regards, The Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius Team
Dear Preiya, Thank you so much for this excellent review that makes us very proud and truly motivated. It's always a pleasure to welcome back loyal guests like you, and your kind words are a wonderful reward for our team's efforts. … Show more
Reviewed: 19 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewGreat localization, nice rooms with bath tubs. Good food but horrible coffee. Nicer when not such a lot people. Perfect view. Great spa. Horses and water sports around.
Too big and noisy when lot of people. Horrible coffee.
We thank you for your feedback. It was a pleasure to have you at our Resort. We are working on your comments and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you soon on your next trip.
Reviewed: 18 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 17 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 2 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewStaff was not helpful and when you can solve the things they simply don't want to do what good for you, and of course manager is always on some meetings and I think politics on this hotel more about money and not good service! In the restaurants the food not the best and my son get poisoned so he was spending 2 days in the bathroom. Later on when I ask for the invoice they say they will send by email but I had to send so many mails and after long time explaining they is they obligation they finally do. I'm righting only if it's good or bad and this is really bad experience so I'm definitely not recommend!
Thank you for your review, we shall work on the points raised and we hope to show you the changes on your next trip to Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius.
Reviewed: 10 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewThe beach front looks nice - soft sand and comfortable loungers. Fresh beach towels provided. Fairly spacious rooms.
Where to start! Terrible food, many restaurants closed, those that were open all require advanced booking, too many buffets and very little Al la carte. We couldn’t eat in the hotel pretty much, terrible. Staff ignored us. Didn’t get served once on the beach. Staff unfriendly, uninformed. They explained nothing about the hotel. The golf course is in really really bad condition. Room was really cold and couldn’t adjust AC. We visited Westin and Intercontinental and found them to be far superior.
We thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience. We regret to see that you had issues during your stay and we shall work on these comments hoping that we will have the opportunity to welcome you on your next trip to show the changes.
We thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience. We regret to see that you had issues during your stay and we shall work on these comments hoping that we will have the opportunity to welcome you on your next trip to show t… Show more
Reviewed: 26 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewThe fact that the hotel was located on a west facing beach with glorious sunsets and within acres and acres of a beautiful garden.
Thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you soon on your next trip to Mauritius for more memorable stay.
Reviewed: 23 January 2025 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewWe have enjoyed every minute of our vacation in this beautiful resort. It is located in lush park and has great beach. If you like to snorkel, this is the place to go. We've met many very helpful and kind personnel. Special thanks go to mr.Jay on the Suite beach and Mrs. Kavita, which both were extremely professional and always prepared to help. For sure we'll come back soon!
Dear Guest, We thank you for your review. It would be with much pleasure that we shall welcome you soon on your next trip to Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius. Looking forward for the new dates soon. Kind regards, The Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius team
Dear Guest, We thank you for your review. It would be with much pleasure that we shall welcome you soon on your next trip to Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius. Looking forward for the new dates soon. Kind regards, The Maritim Resort &… Show more
Reviewed: 21 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewThe hotel was excellent and the views were amazing, the grounds were beautiful and the vista over Turtle Bay was spectacular.
A 5 star hotel but 4 star restaurants. The a la carte restaurants were below standard making the main Belle View look exceptional The food in the restaurants were under or over cooked which made the B V impressive Also the all inclusive drinks package was 3rd world due to lack of quality. This was really disappointing.
We thank you for your feedback. We shall work on the points raised and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you on your next trip to show you the changes.
Reviewed: 19 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewGood, very clean
We thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcome you on your next stay soon.
Reviewed: 12 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 8 January 2025 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 24 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewStaff were very helpful and the food was very delicious
Expensive but good for value considering the activities inclusive (half board)
Dear Guest, We thank you for choosing the Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius for your stay. We hope to welcome you soon for more memorable moments with us. Kind regards, The Maritim Resort & Spa Mauritius team
Reviewed: 23 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewThe place
We were disappointed with our stay at the hotel. Despite requesting two adjacent rooms at the time of booking, we were placed in rooms that were far from each other. We spent our time worrying about our two elderly and disabled members of our family in a room far from us. Additionally, we had specified a preference for two single beds but did not receive that option. The hotel is not wheelchair accessible, which meant that my mother had difficulty accessing many areas, with the main restaurant being the only exception. Moreover, upon our early arrival on check-in day, we were made to wait for 90 minutes at the reception after receiving a subpar drink that was more water than anything else.
We thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. We have taken good note of your points and we shall work on them accordingly. We hope to welcome you soon on your next trip so that we can show you the changes.
Reviewed: 22 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewThe waiters were exceptional and delivered a great service.
Room allocated was too far and my request for having a room at the lower level was unfortunately not met hence it was a struggle for my elderly parents to walk such a long distance around the block. Hope we could improve the service for senior citizens. Thank you.
We thank you for sharing your feedback. We shall work on those points and we hope to welcome you soon on your next stay to show you the changes.
Reviewed: 22 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 22 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewExcellent
We thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcome you again on your next stay for more memorable moments.
Reviewed: 21 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 19 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewWe booked this hotel to end our 2 weeks in Mauritius with a plan to relax and enjoy the access to the private beach and activities and spa. We checked in at 3pm on 15th. Our rooms were simply not acceptable. a twin room initially requested was not prepared our double room had dirty bed covers which was witnessed by the Duty Manager. We were then moved to upgraded rooms but not adjoining and not ground level to ease and speed of access to the beach, pool and spa as we would have preferred. Our new room had soiled sheets - see images uploaded- this took 2 days for a response as this was reported with photographic evidence by email to be addressed by the Duty Manager and Housekeeping Manager in person due to no response. We booked a massage for 3 people by phone only to turn up and be told that only 2 people were on the booking with no time left this meant I did not get the spa experience I wanted and paid for. For a 3 day stay of which hours were wasted sorting out issues that were simply.down to quality control and attention to detail for a 5* experience - made our last days disappointing. Whilst staff acted in reactively to our complaints - we were not there to be constantly apologised to and issued rectified ......... the tedious need to have to addressed what Should be standard quality and service for such a short period was not acceptable. If an immediate refund was available to us - we most definitely would have opted to stay somewhere else..
We thank you for your feedback. We noticed that you got a free room upgrade and room were presented to us by the Duty Manager before you set up in the room. We have also noted that you got a second compensation with a free late check out also. We thus deduct that the hotel was fair based on the issue raised during your stay.
We thank you for your feedback. We noticed that you got a free room upgrade and room were presented to us by the Duty Manager before you set up in the room. We have also noted that you got a second compensation with a free late check out al… Show more
Reviewed: 6 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewI travelled with a friend for her birthday treat. We realised we are in for a great time from the moment we arrived and we were met by a charming valet who welcomed us graciously like we were some "queens". We had a grand welcome at the reception and the wow moment was when we entered our room only to be welcomed by a complimentary champaigne bottle and two maritim branded sunhats in a magnificent and spacious room. The services at the bar, restaurant, the SPA, the horse stable...all exceeded my expectations. Did i even mention that the DJ was so accommodating as to play a happy birthday song for my friend Joan, played for her a Kenyan song and played for me a Malawian song of my liking? And did i mention how the restaurant went the extra mile to bring for Joan a cake, sung a birthday song for her at breakfast? A rating of 10 cannot even begin to explain the experience at this hotel!!!
We thank you for sharing these great moments with us. We hope to welcome you soon for your next trip and that you will be able to enjoy the facilities for a memorable stays ahead.
Reviewed: 26 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewCheck in staff were fantastic and overall resort was beautiful. I had booked for the wrong week via Booking.com and arrived a week early and they still sorted me out.
Breakfast food was very average and plates/cutlery was not clean. Service staff in bars were slow and unattentive.
We thank you for your feedback. We shall work on the points raised and we hope that we will have the opportunity to show you the changes on your next stay in Mauritius.
Reviewed: 21 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewGr8 facilities n restaurants...huge grounds.. even had a little waterfall n a very old distillery with great rums .. i would stay again and i recommend
I liked everything!!!. maybe d sea had a few rocks, corals under but these were great for snorkelling
We thank you for sharing your experience and feedbacks to us. We look forward to welcome you on your next trip for more memorable moments.
Reviewed: 18 November 2024 · Stayed in September 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 16 November 2024 · Stayed in September 2024
Verified review