7.6

Reviews of Sunway Residence

Off the B36 Road, Mont Choisy, Mauritius

  • Kavita

    Reviewed: 19 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • Iveta

    Reviewed: 6 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review

    Very close to the beach, nice place to stay

  • Margo

    Reviewed: 19 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review

    The secure doors and the maid did her job often.

    This property was so bad we did not even stay this four nights. It was an extension that I mistakenly booked before seeing the place. When I first booked the owner advertised beachfront(NOT) and spa(NOT). When I complained and told him this was what we wanted for our vacation he changed the wording. He had plenty of time to re-rent it for the four day extension, but greedy landlord chose not to do it. I was really upset and told him to take the Taxi fare out of the money he stole from us. When I told him that he actually threatened us “ you will never make it out of Mauritius.” Not very professional, but he did scare us!! We left him the money and we moved out the next morning.

    Property response:

    Next time be careful when you book any property around the world When a booking is none refundable its means none refundable Try to do it in your country to get money back for a none refundable booking.you refuse to pay taxi fare .definitely it’s a police case that’s why I report it to police and they came to knock at your door and you didn’t open the door .You fled from the apartment early morning .By the way you both was were an annoyance as all other clients were complaining about you both.Please note that not paying the taxi fare make one a thief not a greedy landlord

    Next time be careful when you book any property around the world When a booking is none refundable its means none refundable Try to do it in your country to get money back for a none refundable booking.you refuse to pay taxi fare .definit… Show more

    Sunway Residence
    8 February 2025
  • See the property
  • Margo

    Reviewed: 15 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review

    The doors and the cleaning person.

    We came to this place because it boasted a spa and beachfront . We got in after dark so went right upstairs, we were so tired from the travel. His advertising of a sofa in the living room wasn’t there. that was where I had planned on sleeping. I had to sleep on the floor!! In the morning we went looking for the spa. He didn’t have that either. It was close to the beach but still two streets between with houses and lots of trees. Could not see the ocean let alone consider it to be beachfront. I contacted the owner immediately and also Booking.com about the situation. Very unsatisfactory. These places should be screened better and not just take the owners word for things. He went back and made adjustments to his advertising to change the wording. He took spa off the most popular facilities and changed the wording to a 1 min walk to the beach. I took a screenshot and showed him. Reza (the owner) is very dishonest & greedy. I would never go here again. We were there 11 nights of our vacation and could not be more disappointed. To be continued bc I booked an extension of 4 nights before seeing the place.

    Property response:

    Dear guest Next time don’t plan to sleep on sofa in living You need to check all your details correctly before you book any property. By the way I need to beware of guest like you who refused to pay the airport transfer which you requested to organise for you

    Dear guest Next time don’t plan to sleep on sofa in living You need to check all your details correctly before you book any property. By the way I need to beware of guest like you who refused to pay the airport transfer which you requested … Show more

    Sunway Residence
    19 January 2025
  • Thibault

    Reviewed: 20 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024

    Verified review
  • 7.0 Good
    Salomon

    Reviewed: 7 July 2024 · Stayed in July 2024

    Verified review

    Location excellent and very easy access to the beach. Lovely large balcony with chairs and table and garden view. A washing machine and washing lines were available. Spacious living area. Secure building. Sunway Residece has a lot of potential - see recomodations below.

    Recomodations for flat no.4: - A very deep clean of the kitchen and bathroom is needed. - Flat smelted damp and there were large patches of muld on the ceiling outside the bathroom and bedroom. - An extractor fan is needed in the bathroom. - Grouting between the tiles and around the basin was black with muld. - Manual for the operation of the shower system would be beneficial. - Hot water is needed in the basin and kitchen sink. - The wooden counter top plug sockets and stove were very greasy. - The safety of some of the lounge chairs must be ckeced. - Rules for noise curfew should be stated for all the residents. - Car Parking for GUESTS was a huge concern. - Unfortunately we did not meet the host to point out the above issues.

  • See the property
  • Nastassiavdheever

    Reviewed: 23 June 2024 · Stayed in June 2024

    Verified review

    The location is perfect, we drove all over the island and will come back to this area anytime. The flat has a nice little terrace where we relaxed and enjoyed the fresh air. The beach is a few steps away where you can spend hours enjoying the island vibe without being hasseld by anyone.

    The parking on the street is a bit stressfull

    Property response:

    Hello Thanks for your stay and appreciation Hope to welcome you again Regards Reza

    Sunway Residence
    29 June 2024
  • Thandeka

    Reviewed: 27 April 2024 · Stayed in April 2024

    Verified review

    -Location right next to Mont Choisy beach, washing machine & cleanliness are the main selling points for this apartment

    -Very basic furniture -Air Con is far away in the bedroom so living room gets rather warm in spite of the fan and one can’t keep the main door open because there are so many mosquitoes in the property -Very noisy neighbors but owner can’t control this

  • Garnier

    Reviewed: 18 March 2024 · Stayed in March 2024

    Verified review

    The location, the space, the terrace, the ease with which laundry can be washed and hung, the peace and quiet as well as the friendly neighbors. If you don't mind being away from the nightlife, this accommodation is perfect. What's more, there's an almost gourmet restaurant "Stéphanie Snack" 30m away, with a really friendly staff.

    The fourniture are not our taste but it really does not matter.

  • See the property
  • Raimonda

    Reviewed: 17 January 2024 · Stayed in January 2024

    Verified review
  • Hughes

    Reviewed: 9 January 2024 · Stayed in January 2024

    Verified review

    Centrally located, was perfect for my young son and myself. Close to beach and some restaurants. The only snag was that the supermarket was about 2kms away, but could easily get there by bus or walk.

  • Lilia

    Reviewed: 28 November 2023 · Stayed in November 2023

    Verified review

    Great location. 3 minutes to the beach.

  • See the property
  • Jul

    Reviewed: 11 October 2023 · Stayed in October 2023

    Verified review
  • 7.0 Good
    Talvish

    Reviewed: 25 August 2023 · Stayed in July 2023

    Verified review

    Excellent location, good area. Very close to the beach.

  • Anonymous

    Reviewed: 10 June 2023 · Stayed in June 2023

    Verified review

    the location is great. the property has all needed amenities and was clean although it smelled like mold considering sun does not come in.

    the staff did not leave much of information on the access during check in nor any details on the check out which was not too helpful

  • See the property
  • Patrick

    Reviewed: 24 May 2023 · Stayed in May 2023

    Verified review

    The location was great. 1 minute walk from a fantastic beach. Flat was cleaned every few days to a good standard. Everything worked as advertised.. Street food stall across road was great. Local area was peaceful in the evening.. Would book again.

    Not many restaurants within walking distance in the evening.. Would need a car to drive 10 minutes to grand baie if you want to eat out in the evening

  • Annapurna

    Reviewed: 31 March 2023 · Stayed in March 2023

    Verified review

    I loved my stay in the apartment. It's a perfect place for independent, self-catering travel. The best part is that it is a 1 minute walk to the quiet end of the best beach in Mauritius - incredible Mont Choisy. The apartment itself is very big. Theres a large living/kitchen area with a dining table, and everything you need in the kitchen. The bedroom has aircon and is very comfortable. The bathroom is small but also comfortable. The balcony is big with views over the tropical plants in the garden below. It's easy to park outside. When you cross the road to the beach there is a fresh fruit vendor selling mangos, papayas etc at a good price. The temple on the seafront just a few minutes away is definitely worth a visit. The beach is just heavenly, and you can have a stretch all to yourself just a few minutes away.

    The road is a bus route, which is great if you want to get the bus, but it is noisy during the day as the buses are old. They do stop at night though.

    Property response:

    Hello Thanks very much for your appreciation Hope to welcome you again Reza

    Sunway Residence
    2 April 2023
  • Du

    Reviewed: 30 March 2023 · Stayed in March 2023

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Reix

    Reviewed: 20 November 2022 · Stayed in November 2022

    Verified review
  • Michael

    Reviewed: 10 October 2022 · Stayed in October 2022

    Verified review
  • Showing 1 - 21

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

Hotel Klosterhof

Wehr, Germany

Bintang Warisan Hotel

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Arcadia Hotel

Cıralı, Turkey

Hotel Van Gogh

Saint-Rémy-de-Provence, France

Apartment Alex

Novi Vinodolski, Croatia

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...